Shawnee County Flood Map Modernization

Detailed Thorough Precise.

Information for Property Owners

Homeowners insurance typically does not cover flood damage.

Changing Maps

Flood Maps Are Changing

Everyone has some level of flood risk. New flood hazard maps provide an updated picture of what that risk is. The level of flood risk can be different from one neighborhood to another and even from one property to another. Homeowners, renters and business owners will want to learn how their risk is currently shown, and how it will be shown when the new flood hazard maps (DFIRMs) become effective.

Varying Risk

Insuring Against Changing Risk

Flood insurance is an important first step in protecting your financial investment. When properties are mapped into high risk areas (shown as a flood zone labeled with letters starting with “A”), construction restrictions and flood insurance requirements apply. In these areas, known as Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHAs), if a property owner has a mortgage through a federally regulated or insured lender, flood insurance will be required once the maps become effective. For homes in high-risk areas, there is a 26% chance of experiencing a flood during the life of a 30-year mortgage, compared to a 9% chance of fire. Property owners who obtain and maintain flood coverage before the effective date may be able to save through a process known as grandfathering.

When properties are mapped from a high-risk area into low to moderate risk areas (a zone labeled with the letter “X”), flood insurance will no longer be required once the maps become effective. However, the flood risk has only been reduced, it has not been removed. Property owners can maintain coverage by converting to a lower-cost Preferred Risk Policy (PRP), with premiums starting as low as $119 per year.

Remember, flood insurance is available for all property, regardless of risk determination, and is the only insurance that protects you from flood damage. More information is available on the Insurance Information page.

Flood Safety

Floods are the most common natural disaster is Shawnee County (and the United States for that matter). Being flood smart includes protecting your property before floods occur. Be sure that major appliances, electrical switchboxes, outlets, and heating equipment are well above the potential flood levels. To learn more about flood safety, review Are You Ready?.

Protesting Outcomes

Appealing a Flood Designation

While the new maps use the latest technology and information available at the time of risk modeling, the maps can always be improved if better information is available. FEMA will accept topographic or hydrologic model information to support a change to the map during the 90-Day Appeal Period. More information is available on the Public Comment Period page.